top of page

A Summer's Morning - How A Photograph Captured My Contentment


When I was a kid my favourite time of year was summer. I would wake up in my pj's, go downstairs where my Mum/ Nan would be watching TV or in the kitchen smoking, I'd kiss her on the cheek and go sit in "my" chair by the window. Every morning until I was about 16 I would have KwikSave "Grandas" or "Grandads" (I never read the label right) hot chocolate for my breakfast. (You can see the yellow mug in the window!).

During the summer the BBC would fill the slots between 7am to 12pm with CBBC (Kids TV), so I'd just sit there with the hot sun glaring through the window watching shows like SMART, Live & Kicking etc sipping my hot chocolate.

This time was bliss to me, I used to feel so content. It's was so simple but that feeling is the one we all strive to achieve, and sometimes I think we forget it can be found in the simplest moments. #beinthemoment #bliss#life #content #memory


bottom of page